Summer

I think over the last few years, I have fallen into the trap of believing that good teachers use every minute of their time trying to improve their teaching. They stay late at school, they work on the weekends, they study over summer.

I no longer believe this. (I don’t believe that I can do everything in the standard work schedule either, but that is for a different post.) Right now, I am feeling dangerously close to burnt out. When I read something new, I feel overwhelmed instead of excited. When I hear of a new technology, I feel depressed. When I look at my latest PD book sitting on the floor (yes, the floor…my bookshelves are full), I feel resentful. It’s very sad.

So I’m taking a break. For just a few weeks, that is. After all…isn’t that what summer’s for?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

