Year in Review

I’ve been avoiding this post. I know I need to recap my year, what I did well and what I need to work on, but I’m just not feeling it at the end. But it has been two weeks since I hugged my colleagues good-bye and walked out the double doors. It’s time.

What I did well:

  • I did less test prep than ever. Whether this is a good or bad thing waits to be seen since our test scores are STILL not in.
  • I used more video and visuals than ever before and they really helped students get involved in the lessons.
  • I tried PBL/IBL. Tried it and liked it.
  • I stopped thinking of tech as something cool and instead have starting thinking of it as a tool…meaning I stopped having to tell myself that during planning.
  • I started presenting on tech in my district.
  • I opened up writing to more than just prompts.
  • I kept up with my blogging and have seen the result in better reflection as a teacher.
  • I read more…hard to do with two kids.
  • I used more nonfiction and more fiction over all.
  • I posted grades every two weeks.

What I need to work on:

  • My attitude. There were a few things that happened this year that I was justifiable angry over, but I couldn’t seem to get over. I think my poor attitude affected how well I worked with others. Grown-ups get over it. This is the reason I’ve been avoiding this posting….I didn’t want to admit that in writing.
  • I let other people’s decisions affect my classroom too much.
  • In my haste to do more, I let lapse some things I know work. Mainly writing portfolios.
  • I still need to work on vocab. It has always been my weakest point.
  • I totally blew the reader’s/writer’s notebook. So much so, I am wondering if it is worth the effort to retry.

I guess it evened out. I’ve had worse years, but I’ve also had better. I think the PD I need most the summer is summer. I need to relax and let go. I think it’s time for the beach.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Year in Review

  1. Kudos to you for such an honest look back at your year. It is not easy to unveil those ‘areas of need’ to oneself, let alone to all of your readers. Admiring your courage.

    Mardie

Leave a Reply

