FETC Link-o-Rama

That’s right folks…it’s the moment you’ve been waiting for. It’s the Florida Educational Technology Conference LINK-O-RAMA!!!! These are all the links (or at least the ones I could decipher from my handwriting) from FETC.

Disclaimer: I have used only a few of these sites, so I can’t say I actually recommend them, but people who seem to know what they are talking about do reccomend them. The only real qualification for including them was that the link worked. If you have any I left off, comment or email me and I will add them.

Collaboration/Conferencing/Communication

  • www.etherpad.com – create rooms where all guests can write on the same text.
  • www.tokbox.com – video conferencing site (YouTube seems to come through when embedded)
  • www.buzzword.com – all guests can add to the text, works as a file converter, too
  • www.Skype.com – video conferencing
  • www.Oovoo.com – video conferencing – sometimes works when Skype doesn’t
  • www.letmegooglethatforyou.com – sends a link that does a google search for those people who email you instead of looking it up themselves

Video Viewing or Creation/Screen Capture

  • www.jingproject.com– Screen capture made easy, can do stills or video. (This one I have used, so you know how easy it must be!)
  • www.kickyoutube.com– download YouTube videos – don’t go to this site. When you find a YouTube video, type “kick” in right before “youtube” on the URL and it will take you to a page you can download from.
  • www.zamzar.com – file conversion – I’ve used this one as well, works great
  • www.blabberize.com – makes talking pictures, very funny
  • www.search.creativecommons.org – media site that allows you to search for images without breaking any copyright laws
  • www.teachertube.com media site similar to YouTube, usually not blocked. I’ve found some good stuff here.
  • www.goanimate.com -create animated videos
  • www.gizmoz.com – create animated videos
  • www.xtranormal.com – create animated videos

Podcasting

Presentation Tools (including lesson presentation – sounds better than lecture, doesn’t it)

  • www.sliderocket.com – online slide show (fee, but possibly reduced for free/reduced lunch schools), slides play on website so no issues with students at home having a different version of PowerPoint than you.
  • www.prezi.com – slide show alternative – very cool
  • www.crappygraphs.com – create a graph without data to show a point – just take a look before you dismiss it, it kind of cool
  • www.polleverywhere.com– cellphone, twitter, web polls that can be done instantaneously

Lesson Planning

Student Projects/ Products/ Activities

Student Blogging

Personal/Professional Organization

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “FETC Link-o-Rama

  1. Hello. This is kind of an “unconventional” question , but have other visitors asked you how get the menu bar to look like you’ve got it? I also have a blog and am really looking to alter around the theme, however am scared to death to mess with it for fear of the search engines punishing me. I am very new to all of this …so i am just not positive exactly how to try to to it all yet. I’ll just keep working on it one day at a time Thanks for any help you can offer here.

    • hrmason

      I have no idea how I got the menu bar…I just picked one of wordpress’s themes and used that. Sorry I can’t be more help.

  2. Great post. I used to be checking constantly this weblog and I am impressed!

    Extremely helpful information specially the final phase :
    ) I take care of such information a lot. I used to be looking for this certain information for a
    long time. Thanks and best of luck.

  3. You actually make it seem so easy with your presentation however I in finding this
    matter to be really one thing which I believe I’d by no means understand. It seems too complicated and extremely large for me. I’m looking ahead for your next put up,
    I’ll try to get the cling of it!

  4. A fascinating discussion is worth comment. I do think that you should publish more on this subject matter,
    it might not be a taboo subject but typically people don’t discuss these issues.
    To the next! Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

