First Day

Is it possible to have an exciting first day? Sometimes I think that I should just tell them everything and get it out of the way. Other times I think that I should wait until later in the week when they aren’t overwhelmed with teacher rules and supply lists. Don’t want to do a pretest since I don’t interact with them, but don’t want to launch into something new without knowing where they are.

So I showed this:

And a did a Power Point with pictures of my daughter obeying class rules.

And I talked about the sequel to Hunger Games.

And I told them where the fire exit was. Just in case the school burst into flames the first day. Could happen.

But mostly I told them the class would be work and I valued the work, the thinking, the learning over the product they turned in. I told them that what we do will be hard, but my job is to help them learn the hard stuff. I told them all they had to be was a little bit better than they were before. I told them it would be work.

I think they’re a bit scared of me now.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “First Day

  1. It’s very trouble-free to find out any topic on web as compared to books, as I found this post at this site.

Leave a Reply

